What Are the Penalties for DUI In Las Vegas?
Nevada DUI penalties are incredibly strict as defined in NRS 484C.010. It is against the law to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or greater in Nevada. You could lose your driving privileges if a breath, blood or urine test reveals that you are under the influence of alcohol or drugs or if you are convicted of DUI.
Contact our Las Vegas DUI defense attorneys for a free consult. Serving all of Clark County: Las Vegas, Laughlin, Primm, Sloan, Henderson & the University of Nevada Las Vegas campus.
My firm understands that without the ability to drive, your job position can be compromised. Where you can go will be restricted, which will impact many other obligations and activities as well (your family, your education, your social life, etc.) Turning to family and friends to drive you everywhere is embarrassing and can quickly become inconvenient and cumbersome.
Do you need help convincing the DMV why you deserve to have your driving privileges reinstated? To craft a better argument at your DMV hearing and to increase your chances of winning your driving privileges back, contact my office today at (702) 930-5881 and take advantage of my free initial consultation!
What Are The Nevada DUI Penalties?
First Time Offenses:
If you are convicted of driving with blood alcohol content above .08%, then you may be facing serious consequences. For a first offense, the penalties you can receive may include:
Between 2 and 6 months in jail
Fines of up to $1,000
Driver’s license suspension of up to ninety days
The penalties for a first time DUI conviction in Nevada include: a jail sentence ranging from 2 days to 6 months or 48 to 96 hours of community service, 90 day driver’s license revocation, $60 chemical test fee, attend a victim impact panel, vehicle impoundment, a fine not to exceed $1,000, and an education course on the abuse of alcohol and controlled substances.
Second Time Offenses:
For a second offense, the range of possible jail time increases to between 10 days and 6 months, along with fines of up to $1,000. In addition, your license will most likely be suspended for a year. A third DUI offense may bring penalties of up to:
6 years in jail
$5,000 in fines
Driver’s license suspension of 3 years
Your vehicle may also be subject to impoundment. It is important to note that a judge may order you to perform community service and install an ignition interlock device (IID) with any DUI offense. An IID is a piece of equipment hardwired into your vehicle’s ignition system which will require you to provide a clean breath sample prior to starting your vehicle and at random intervals while driving. Those who refuse to submit to a chemical test such as a breathalyzer or blood test will get their license automatically suspended due to Nevada’s implied consent law. The implied consent law states that any individual who drives a vehicle is subject to testing if suspected of drunk driving with probable cause.
For a second DUI offense within seven years, the offender faces from 10 days to 6 months in jail or residential confinement for up to 6 months, up to $1,000 in fines or community service, drug or alcohol treatment program, and up to 12 months driver’s license suspension.
Third Time Offenses:
For a third DUI offense within seven years (category B felony), the penalties include 1 to 6 years in prison, up to $5,000 in fines and a 3 year driver’s license suspension.
Repeat DUIs and Your Criminal Record:
If you are convicted of felony DUI, then any subsequent DUI arrests will be charged as a felony. Any license revocation will remain on your DMV record for the rest of your life and a DUI conviction can show on your driver history for a maximum period of 10 years. Your license revocation will be reported until you get your driving privileges reinstated. To fight your DUI charges, contact me right away. As a former Chief Deputy District Attorney for Clark County with over 16 years experience practicing law in Clark County, I am confident that I have what it takes to defend you and your license in court!
Ordering the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) is at the discretion of the judge and a motorist may be ordered to install an IID as a part of their sentence in a DUI case. An IID is a piece of equipment hardwired into your vehicle’s ignition system. It is essentially a breathalyzer device that will require you to provide an alcohol-free breath sample prior to starting your vehicle and at intervals while driving. A failed test will immobilize the vehicle and a record of the event will be reported to the authorities.
Drivers have the right to appeal their license revocation through the DMV Office of Administrative Hearings. A driver’s license reinstatement is not automatic, even in cases where your criminal charges were reduced or dismissed by your attorney. You will have to meet your license reinstatement requirements and apply for a license before you can regain your driving privilege.
Let Our Henderson Nevada DUI Attorneys Help
Our Las Vegas DUI lawyers have a very in depth knowledge of Nevada DUI laws and Nevada DUI penalties. They will use that knowledge to build the best possible defense for you. Call today for a free consult with an experienced Laughlin, Nevada DUI attorney.
Serving all of Clark County, Nevada including Las Vegas, Primm, Sloan, Laughlin, Henderson & the UNLV campus.