Nevada Misdemeanor Classes

Misdemeanor Charges – A misdemeanor is an offense that the criminal justice system considers less serious than a felony. The offense is normally punishable by fines up to $1,000 and imprisonment for up to six months. Felony offenses are punishable by a year or more in prison. Misdemeanor sentences are typically served in a local jail.
Common misdemeanor charges include petty theft, disorderly conduct and shoplifting. Typical motor vehicle-related misdemeanors include first time DUI offenses, parking violations, exceeding the speed limit, running a red light or stop sign.

There are several classes of misdemeanors. Some are punishable only by fines and other classes require mandatory imprisonment. The amount of the fine and length of incarceration associated with each class is applied to all offenses within that class. Nevada also has a category of offenses known as gross misdemeanors. The penalties can include a fine up to $2,000 and up to one year in county jail.

Although misdemeanors impose lighter penalties than felonies, the offense can still have serious consequences for your future. A conviction will appear in a background check and possibly prevent you from working in certain jobs or owning a firearm.

If you are charged with a misdemeanor, contact our office to discuss your case. A veteran Las Vegas criminal defense attorney understands what is required to obtain a conviction in Nevada. The circumstances and facts may enable our legal team to get the charges dropped or reduced to a lesser offense. We can help you carry on with your life.